Description of the Sandford House Property
The house is a weatherboard structure, resting on a high brick basement wall. It has a hip roof. There are double porches, four columns wide, and enclosed by a balustrade. The fluted columns of the upper porch have Ionic capitals and lower porch Doric. The doorway in the upper porch is original, set in a frame work with beautiful carvings. Sidelights with three small sunburst cravings, set in a fan-shape, corresponding with the fanlight over the door. The lower doorway was changed along with other inside changes for the wedding of Lillian Slocomb to Neil Emerson. In the very wide hallway another change was the addition of two Iconic columns and pilasters, forming an opening to the north living room. In this room is a mantel of white Italian marble which was removed from the Halliday-House. Opposite this room is the Daingerfield room.
The large basement held vaults for the bank. This was surrounded by a three foot wall of sandstone. There were also fireplaces. The vaults and fire places were removed by the Woman’s Club to make an assembly room which is used as a meeting place for the Woman’s Club.
In 1941, the Woman’s Club purchased the “Slocumb House” but later renamed it the “Sandford House”